Bieber Fever in Facebookistan – Living Proof of Social Media ROI

Imagine a World Without Justin Bieber, It’s Easy If You Try | Commentary and analysis from Simon Dumenco – Advertising Age.

Great article by  Simon Dumenco.

Do not underestimate the Bieber-Industrial Complex. For one thing, Bieber, estimated by Forbes to have pulled down $55 million between May 2011 and May 2012, outearns Adele, Katy Perry, Rihanna and even Lady Gaga. Forbes also reports that his fragrance Someday — just one of countless Bieber-brand products — rang up $60 million at retail in its first six months, which helps give him the pocket change needed to be a budding tech investor (in Spotify, Tinychat, etc.).

Now, don’t get me wrong. I haven’t drunk the entire pitcher of social-media Kool-Aid. I’m more than happy to question some of the more dubious precepts of the social-media faith. In fact, after I spoke at yet another conference a couple weeks ago, a member of the audience came up to me and said, “Thank you for calling bullshit on social media!” (Which I guess I sort of did, somewhat.)

I’m with Dumenco on the social media Kool-Aid. I’ve probably only consumed a half of a glass myself. Still, it’s worth noting what’s happening in the world and WHERE it’s happening. It ain’t about the old farts like me, campers, it’s the babies that have the Bieber Fever and are texting and tweeting and YouTubing like a house a-fire.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it 5 million more times, I’m sure, watch what the damn kids are doing. And figure out how to translate that into meaningful marketing for you.

That’s all. Read the article.

H/T – Media Bistro

Leave a Reply

