“Avoiding Advertising Like the Plague”

From the latest New Thinking:

People are avoiding advertising like the plague. You are as likely to get hit by lightning as you are to click on a banner ad. [emphasis added] And what’s the response of the advertising industry? Native advertising, which is advertising that does its very best to fool the customer into thinking it’s not advertising.

Blind trust is gone. And gone with it are the traditional models of advertising, marketing and communication. Today, we trust in use. Social media is not me and my brands. It’s me and my friends.

I don’t get how people in the industry don’t understand this. I guess that’s why people are pouring money into advertising at astonishing levels and wondering why the needle doesn’t move. *sigh* For the record, I’m no Johnny-Come-Lately to this; I was telling people to stop most advertising spending in the ’90s. They looked at me crooked then; they look askance today, but, like the old saw goes, “they laughed at Edison, too.”

Leave a Reply

