Blogging and Ph.D.’s — The New Normal?

http://chronicle.com/article/How-Blogging-Helped-Me-Write/136893/?cid=at&utm_source=at&utm_medium=en

In Steven Soderbergh’s movie Contagion, one protagonist declares that blogging is like graffiti but with commas and periods. There is some truth to that, as many blogs are uninteresting and poorly written. And I am well aware that blogging does not always produce the highest quality of source material, as you might find in an article published in a peer-reviewed journal.

But blogging has allowed me to face my ghosts, build up a network of contacts, and advance faster through the process of writing my dissertation.

I’m not sure that I’m completely down with his thesis, but I’m willing to mull it over for a bit.

from the Chronicle of Higher Education

Leave a Reply

